The New York Times reported today that some users of Facebook have discovered it is nearly impossible to remove themselves entirely from the site, setting off a fresh round of concern over the popular social network’s use of personal data.

While the Web site offers users the option to deactivate their accounts, Facebook servers keep copies of the information in those accounts indefinitely. Indeed, many users who have contacted Facebook to request that their accounts be deleted have not succeeded in erasing their records from the network.

I’ve talked about this issue with friends and colleagues in and outside the business. Consumers have fallen a sleep at the wheel when it comes to privacy.  We’ve become too comfortable posting and tagging photos of ourselves, friends and family to random Web sites, revealing deep dark secrets to strangers online and whimsically giving important and VERY PRIVATE information away.

Heads up people…you’re being watched and your information is being stored.

 

Advertisements